2017 hunter ed classes listed

By Press Release


Mark your calendar for the hunter education classes scheduled at the Delta-Montrose Technical College for 2017.

Persons interested in signing up for any of these classes need to go online at www.cpw.state.co.us. Navigate to: About Us; Education; Hunter Education.

Anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1949, must have successfully completed an approved hunter education course sanctioned by a state or province before applying for or purchasing a hunting license. Unless an emergency occurs, it is required that a student attend all of the class time. An absence may require that the hunter education class be repeated.

If a student chooses to take the internet classes instead of the full classroom sessions, make sure to sign up with an instructor. To receive a hunter education card you would have to attend an internet conclusion course. An online course certificate of completion is required to participate in the internet conclusion course.

Space is limited as we take a maximum of 30 students per class.

2017 Dates

Monday, Jan. 30 - Thursday, Feb. 2, 5:30 to 9 p.m. (approximately 14 hours).

Monday, March 6 - Thursday, March 9, 5:30 to 9 p.m. (approximately 14 hours).

Saturday, April 1 -- Internet conclusion course, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (approximately seven hours).

Wednesday, June 14 - Friday, June 16, 6 to 9 p.m. and Saturday, June 17, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. (approximately 14 hours).

Thursday, July 13 - Friday, July 14, 5:30 to 9 p.m. -- Internet conclusion course (approximately seven hours).

Thursday, Aug. 17 - Friday, Aug. 18, 5:30 to 9 p.m. and Saturday, Aug. 19, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (approximately 14 hours).

Wednesday, Aug. 30 - Thursday, Aug. 31, 5:30 to 9 p.m. -- Internet conclusion course (approximately seven hours).

Approximately the last two to three hours of every scheduled class would be for review. The final test is shooting a .22 cal. rimfire to determine gun handling skills.

The shooting exercise will take place at the Delta-Montrose Technical College shooting range. If the range is not available, the Colorado Parks and Wildlife shooting trailer will be utilized.