Caucuses kick off 2018 general election

By Pat Sunderland

Precinct caucuses -- the first step in the process for selecting party delegates, endorsing candidates and setting party platforms -- take place across the state Tuesday, March 6.

Precinct caucuses are meetings of registered electors within the Republican and Democratic parties. Only voters affiliated with one of those parties are allowed to vote, but the caucuses are open to the public.

The caucuses begin at 7 p.m. at the following locations:

Republicans ­-- Precincts 1-14, Delta High School, 1400 Pioneer Road; Precincts 15-20, Hotchkiss High School, 438 Bulldog Street.

Democrats -- Precincts 1-8, Technical College of the Rockies, 1765 Highway 50, Delta; Precincts 9-14, Cedaredge Civic Center, 140 NW 2nd Street; Precincts 15-16, Memorial Hall, 151 1st Street, Hotchkiss; Precinct 17, Crawford Town Hall, 425 Highway 92; Precincts 18-20; Paonia tech college campus, 218 4th Street.

At the caucuses, delegates will be chosen for the county assemblies.

The Delta County Republican Assembly will convene at 10 a.m. Saturday, March 24, at the Delta Performing Arts Center. Delegate check-in runs from 8 a.m. at 9:45 a.m. Alternate designations will be selected for delegates not present at 9:45 a.m.

For more information, visit

The Delta County Democratic Party County Assembly is also Saturday, March 24. Registration begins at 9 a.m., and the assembly starts at 10 a.m. at Memorial Hall in Hotchkiss.

Additional information can be found at

If you have questions about your voter registration, call the Delta County clerk's office at 874-2153 or 874-5903, or visit