CSU Extension rolls out food safety courses
By Press Release
Published Thursday, February 4, 2016 10:15 am
Are you interested in learning about the Colorado Cottage Foods Act? Do you work in the food industry but have yet to pass an accredited Food Safety Course? Would you be interested in the opportunity to become a Master Food Safety Advisor through a comprehensive training in food safety and food preservation? If you answered yes to any of these topics, then be sure to save the dates for CSU Extension's upcoming trainings on these topics.
Join us as Ann Duncan, CSU Family and Consumer Science Agent, teaches an assortment of classes starting in February, which will include but are not limited to:
ServSafe training: This certified food safety training program is ideal for food service managers as well as employees who are new to the food service industry. Courses will be held 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Tuesday, Feb. 16, in Grand Junction; Wednesday, April 13, in Montrose; and Tuesday, June 14, in Delta. Course cost is $120 per attendee and preregistration is required.
Master Food Safety Advisor (MFSA) program: The MFSA program includes four classes of training on food safety and prevention of foodborne illness, methods of canning, pickling, freezing and dehydrating. In order to give back to the community, certified MFSAs will volunteer for a minimum of 20 hours of service each year by sharing their knowledge and expertise through CSU Extension programs and events. Participants must attend all four trainings, which will be Saturdays in Delta from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Feb. 27, March 5, 12 and 19. Preregistration is due by Feb. 19 and the class cost will be $125 per attendee.
Cottage Food Producer course: The Colorado Cottage Foods Act allows individuals to legally prepare and sell certain foods from their home kitchen. This training teaches participants on how to comply with the act so that they can confidently prepare and market jams, dried herbs, honey, baked goods, and much more. Upcoming class will be 8 a.m. to noon on Wednesday, March 16, in Grand Junction; Wednesday, May 18, in Montrose; and Wednesday, July 13, in Delta. Class fee is $25. Preregistration is required.
Please contact the Mesa County Extension office at 970-244-1834 to register for any of the above courses. Feel free to contact Ann Duncan at 970-249-3935 with any specific questions about the classes and programs offered.
Colorado State University Extension programs are available to all without discrimination. To find out more about Extension learning opportunities in your area, please visit: http://www.extension.colostate.edu/TRA/.