Delta Emblem Club officers installed for 2016-17

By Ruth Marvel

The annual installation of 2016-17 officers for Delta Emblem Club #462 was conducted at the Delta Elks Lodge Saturday, April 16.

A potluck lunch was served at 12:30 p.m. Special guests were in attendance. The members and guests then retired to the lodge meeting and the installation ritual was performed. Honored guests included Willie Gordon, exalted ruler; Josh Viga, leading knight; and Duncan Wurm, loyal knight.

Outgoing president Diane Martinez gave a farewell speech. She listed the many things the club had accomplished in the past year. It was impressive!

Conducting the installation ceremony were LaVon Campbell, Montrose Emblem Club #91, installing officer; Georgia McNeil, Montrose Emblem Club #91, installing marshal; and Jan Gardner, Cortez Emblem Club #131, installing chaplain.

These supreme officers were assisted by members from Hotchkiss Emblem Club #306.

The officers of the coming year were installed according to ritual -- Diane Martinez, president; Kay Thatcher, vice president; Ilene Dreier, financial secretary; Barbara Pierce, treasurer; Mary Jo Chaffee, recording secretary; Ruth Marvel, press correspondent; Margie Ahlberg, chairman of trustees; Helen Wurm, second trustee; Chandra Martinez, marshal; Ruth Marvel, chaplain; and Garrett Abeyta, first guard.

Ruth Marvel
Press Correspondent