Hotchkiss K-8 presents GRIT Blazing Bulldog Awards

By Press Release

Hotchkiss K-8 strives to develop citizens through GRIT -- growth, resiliency, integrity and tenacity. Students who demonstrate these traits academically, socially or emotionally are recognized as GRIT Blazing Bulldogs.

"We are so proud of all our HK-8 students for continuously showing their GRIT," said principal Carrie Yantzer.

The award is not grade based, but is based on the character traits that are aligned with the Hotchkiss K-8 vision/mission. Nominations are made by the teachers, who also have an eye out for Hotchkiss Pride and the Power of 3/Bulldog Bark.

Students will have their picture posted in the hallway and in the DCI. They will be treated to lunch by Horace Mann and will receive ice cream coupons for Taco Hut and certificates from Bananas Fun Park. They are also presented with a certificate and the nomination form.

November/December recipients included:

Kindergarten -- Ava Caldwell, Jose Cortez, Alyssa Dawes, Zane Johns and Lahnisen Tyson.

First grade -- Ben Gomez and Tayen Ware.

Second grade -- Gage Adam, Juliana Alvarado, Guadalupe Elizalde Alvarado, Brooke Angelovich, Anjolee Beveridge, Brylan Cotten, Ethan Deloury, Bryan Elizalde, Braeden Flores, Finneas Gingell, Mya Guyer, Edgar Lozano, Nick Miller, Logan Taylor, Ty O'Connell, Shilah Pinon, Aneka Price, Terrence Rung, Jasmine Soria, Danica Sparks, Roan Spencer, Athziry Vazquez and Laynee Zeldenthuis.

Third grade -- Tony Alvarado, Aaralyn Gallob, Charlie Miller, Lola Mitchell and London West.

Fourth grade -- Henry Hollembeak, Hayley Hubbard, Zachary Luginbyhl, Brooklyn Matus, Jasmine Moore and Daniel Owens.

Fifth grade -- Hailey Carr, Acacia Compher, Lilly Jardon, Victoria Marquez, Kacie McCollum and Tia Moore.

Sixth grade -- Kayla Allred, Esthefany Alvarado, Saul Cortez, Hector Elizalde, Esmeralda Lozano, Addison Neal, Will Poutre, Drayden Taylor, Annie Wilson and Alexis Yanish.

Seventh grade -- Connor Bronkan and Boston Sommer.

Eighth grade -- Mc-Kenzie Cockroft and Shay Glaser.

Staff -- Miss Carey and Mrs. West.

Community member -- Hector Elizalde.