Surface Creek
Monday August 03, 2015

c01 cedaredge1The Town of Cedaredge hosted its dedication of West Main Street improvements and nine historic structures on Saturday, May 31.
There was an official ceremony accompanied by the inaugural Celebrate Cedaredge street festival with food, music and  vendors.

The dedication was highlighted by presentation of bronze plaques that will be mounted on nine, 100-plus-year-old downtown area buildings designating them as local historic structures.

The historic structure designations were conferred by the town Historic Preservation Board. Author, researcher, and historian Ronn Brewer, who has served as the board’s chairman, contributed extensive and detailed historical research and documentation on each of the buildings.
c01 cedaredge2At a presentation event during the Saturday street festival, other individuals were noted for contributions to the overall street improvements/historic designation project. They were architect Will Snowdon, Julie Wolverton, several key town board members along with former mayor Bill Miller, and, most of all, the voters and taxpayers of Cedaredge who, in 2007 by a margin of 11 votes out of 727 cast, approved a sales tax to help pay for street work in town.
The recent downtown improvements were completed with grant support through the state with money provided by Colorado’s energy exploration and development industry, by an anonymous local energy company donation, and with construction assistance from the Delta County Road and Bridge Department.
Brewer presented the bronze plaques for current owners of the following buildings: Starr’s Guitars building, Short Branch Liquors building, Great Escapes building, The Wilt building (current occupants Edward Jones Investments), the Smith building (former telephone co-op exchange), Munson’s Main Street Gallery, Town Hall, Big John’s and the First Baptist Church.
Other speakers contributing comments for the occasion were Cedaredge Mayor Pat Means, County Commissioner Bruce Hovde, Trustee Nancy Sturgill and former trustee Gene Welch.
The Cedaredge Rotary Club conducted its annual fundraiser 5k Fun Run event on Saturday as part of the activities. Overall winner was Taylor Dement of Olathe with a time of 20:05. Women’s division winner was Christina Busch of Cedaredge with a time of 21:50. Approximately 40 runners participated.c01 cedaredge3

Subscribe Today!

Subscribe today and get the DCI
delivered weekly to your mailing address.

If you want to support your community newspaper,
but do not want to receive a printed newspaper, please consider making a donation . . .

S5 Box