Panthers win Delta swim meet Jan. 27

By Wayne Crick

Delta won its final home swim meet on Jan. 27. The Panthers earned 434 points to outswim Moffat County (380) and Cortez (21).

The Panthers placed first in five events and had six second place finishes on their way to the team title last Saturday at Bill Heddles Recreation Center.

Individual winners included Kendra Hillman in the 200 yd. IM (2:36.29) and the 100 yd. breaststroke (1:25.54) and Olivia McCrackin in the 50 yd. freestyle (29.09).

Delta's 200 yd. medley relay team (2:16.90) won that race with the combined efforts of Sami Wollert, Hillman, Jordan Tamayo and Olivia McCrackin.

Summer Young, Hannah Philman, Emma Puruis and Ashley LaHoe combined talents to win the 400 yd. freestyle in a time of 5:09.90.

Individual second place winners were Kaitlyn Neeley (50 yd. freestyle-29.42), Haylee Chamblin (500 yd. freestyle-9:25.65), Olivia McCrackin (100 yd. backstroke with a 1:10.75) and Abby Williams in the 100 yd. breaststroke (1:25.54).

Relay teams placing second included the 200 yd. medley (Hailee Ruble, Williams, Taylor Bess and Kiarrah Schotten); the 200 yd. freestyle relay (Olivia McCrackin, Wollert, Neeley and Hillman) and the 400 yd. freestyle relay (Lene Meneley, Abby Reedy, Amber Mattler and Neeley).

Individual third-place finishers included LaHoe (200 yd. freestyle), Tamayo (100 yd. freestyle) and Ruble (100 yd. backstroke).

Fourth and fifth-place individuals include Tamayo (4th-50 yd. freestyle) and Alaiha Hoffbauer (4th-100 yd. breaststroke). Meneley placed fifth in the 100 yd. freestyle.

Delta's 200 yd. freestyle relay team (Somer Cannon, Nadia Hill, Meneley and Lauryn Metcalf) also placed fifth.

Sixth through 12th place finishers were Ruble (6th-50 yd. freestyle), Taylor Bess (6th-100 yd. backstroke), Maddie Sandridge (6th-100 yd. breaststroke) and the 200 yd. medley relay team (6th-Abby Reedy, Hoffbauer, Philman, Mattler).

A lone seventh-place finsher for Delta was Schotten in the 100 yd. backstroke.

An eighth-place finish went to Puruis (50 yd. freestyle and the 100 yd. freestyle) and Reedy in the 100 yd. backstroke.

Remaining point-producers were Philman (9th-100 yd. freestyle), Sydni West (10th-50 yd. freestyle), Hill (10th-100 yd. freestyle), Morgan Miller (11th-50 yd. freestyle), Metcalf (11th-100 yd. freestyle) and West (12th-100 yd. freestyle).