Rotary Club hosts 23 teams

By Wayne Crick

Last Saturday Delta Rotary Club hosted 23 teams at Devil's Thumb Golf Club for the 17th playing of the Rotary Club 4-Player Scramble. In all, 94 players contested for prize monies and awards.

After the scorecards had been collected and the number of strokes counted, the foursome of Chuy Sandoval, Jason Frazier, Jeremy Allinson and Jeff Allinson were declared the winners with their score of 57 for 18 holes played.

One stroke back of the winners was the foursome of Jeff Caldwell, Brendon Ravens, Torrey Steves and Dustin Smith.

With a round of 59, Garrett Pietak, Kyle Pietak, Gabe Briggs and Chris Boyd finished in third place after 18 holes of golf.

Four golfers earned specialty awards for longest drives. In men's competition, Jim Brown had the longest drive on number eight and Chris Boyd was the long-ball hitter on number 12.

Linda Phillips had the longest drive on number eight and Barb Thurman drove farther than the rest of the field on number nine. Each long-ball winner (men and women) received $25.