Senior CommUnity meals for June

By Press Release


Senior CommUnity meals are served at four dining sites in Delta County -- Cedaredge Community Center (Monday-Thursday), Delta Community Center (Monday-Friday), Hotchkiss Senior Center (Monday-Thursday) and Paonia Senior Citizen Center (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). Meals on Wheels are also delivered from each location. More information is available by calling the Cedaredge meal site, 856-3636; the Delta meal site, 874-7662; Hotchkiss Senior Center, 872-3494; and Paonia Senior Citizen Center, 527-3435.

The menu through June 30 follows:

Thursday, June 1 -- Barbecue chicken on a whole wheat bun, crunchy garden coleslaw, macaroni and cheese, confetti peas and fruited gelatin.

Friday, June 2 -- Lasagna with beef, tossed salad, wax beans, garlic breadstick and fresh strawberries with whipped topping.

Monday, June 5 -- Meat loaf and mashed potatoes, kidney bean salad, California blend veggies, wheat roll and apple crisp.

Tuesday, June 6 -- Oven-fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, black bean salad, peas and pearl onions, and honey bee ambrosia.

Wednesday, June 7 -- Roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, chuckwagon vegetable blend, pickled beets and onions, roll, frosted cake and half an orange.

Thursday, June 8 -- Spaghetti with meat sauce, tossed salad, green beans, garlic breadstick and sliced peaches.

Friday, June 9 -- Tahitian chicken, fried rice, broccoli, whole wheat roll and one-cup fruit dessert.

Monday, June 12 -- Salisbury steak, mashed potatoes and gravy, broccoli, V-8 juice, wheat roll, bananas and mandarin oranges.

Tuesday, June 13 -- Hamloaf, baked potato, spinach mandarin salad, five-way mixed vegetables, onion roll and sliced pears.

Wednesday, June 14 -- Oven roasted chicken, parsley buttered potatoes, Harvard beets, green beans, homemade biscuit and fruit cocktail.

Thursday, June 15 -- Roast turkey with cranberry sauce, oven browned potatoes, tossed salad, California blend vegetables, wheat roll and banana cake.

Friday, June 16 -- Baked breaded pollock with cheese on a whole wheat bun, fish house coleslaw, browned potatoes, Italian stewed tomatoes and watermelon.

Monday, June 19 -- Swedish meatballs over egg noodles, tossed salad, broccoli, roll and sliced pears.

Tuesday, June 20 -- Homemade beef pizza, tomato, cucumber and onion salad, parmesan garlic bread and berry blend crisp.

Wednesday, June 21 -- Homemade beef stew with cornbread, cucumber and red grape salad, one-quarter orange and PBOK cookie.

Thursday, June 22 -- Chicken and noodles, fresh vegetable salad, Oriental vegetables, roll and Emerald Isle salad.

Friday, June 23 -- Liver and onions or homemade beef patty, baked potato, mandarin spinach salad, beets and fresh grapes.

Monday, June 26 --Italian chicken breast, fettuccine alfredo, vegetable blend, tossed salad, French bread and Italian ice.

Tuesday, June 27 -- Baked breaded fish on whole wheat bun, carrot raisin salad, Italian stewed tomatoes and peach cobbler.

Wednesday, June 28 -- Beef and rice burrito smothered with green sauce, lettuce/tomato/cheese, refried beans and churro.

Thursday, June 29 --Tuna salad plate deluxe with crackers, breadstick and cantaloupe.

Friday, June 30 -- Cheeseburger on whole wheat bun, lettuce/tomato/onion, potato salad, baked beans, orange wedge and ice cream.