Senior CommUnity meals for November

By Press Release


Senior CommUnity meals are served at four dining sites in Delta County -- Cedaredge Community Center (Monday-Thursday), Delta Community Center (Monday-Friday), Hotchkiss Senior Center (Monday-Thursday) and Paonia Senior Citizen Center (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). Meals on Wheels are also delivered from each location. More information is available by calling the Cedaredge meal site, 856-3636; the Delta meal site, 874-7662; Hotchkiss Senior Center, 872-3494; and Paonia Senior Citizen Center, 527-3435.

The menu through Nov. 30 follows:

Wednesday, Nov. 1 -- Roast beef with mashed potatoes and gravy, kidney bean salad, broccoli, homemade wheat roll and birthday cake.

Thursday, Nov. 2 -- BBQ chicken breast, potato salad, bell peppers, carrots and onions, oatmeal roll and cinnamon roll.

Friday, Nov. 3 -- Cheeseburger on whole wheat with lettuce, onion and tomato, potato wedges, baked beans and fruit cocktail.

Monday, Nov. 6 -- Italian chicken breast, potatoes O'Brien, stewed tomatoes, homemade roll and apple crisp with vanilla ice cream.

Tuesday, Nov. 7 -- Potato crusted cod with tartar sauce, fish-house coleslaw, potato wedges, homemade wheat roll and fresh apple.

Wednesday, Nov. 8 -- Salisbury steak, fresh veggies salad, mashed potatoes with gravy, homemade wheat roll and new fruit compote.

Thursday, Nov. 9 -- Roast turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy, bacon ranch pea salad, California blend veggies, wheat roll and birthday cake.

Friday, Nov. 10 -- Beef and pork lasagna, tossed salad with tomato, green beans, garlic bread and peaches.

Monday, Nov. 13 --Chicken enchilada casserole, Mexican rice, hot black bean salad and pineapple tidbits.

Tuesday, Nov. 14 -- Beef stew with potatoes, Italian veggie salad, carrots, celery and onions, onion rye roll and peach crisp with vanilla ice cream.

Wednesday, Nov. 15 -- Pizza mac casserole, garbanzo tomato salad, Italian bread and honey fruit dessert.

Thursday, Nov. 16 -- Meat loaf with tomato glaze, three bean salad, mashed potatoes and gravy, broccoli and carrots, and greek yogurt with blueberries.

Friday, Nov. 17 -- Ham and beans, cottage cheese and mandarin oranges, cornbread, parsley carrots and oatmeal raisin cookie.

Monday, Nov. 20 -- Tuna noodle casserole, marinated carrot salad, broccoli, homemade wheat roll and bread pudding.

Tuesday, Nov. 21 -- Chili con carne with cheddar cheese, diced onion cornbread, pea and cheese salad and fruit cocktail.

Wednesday, Nov. 22 -- Roast turkey with cranberry sauce, whipped sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, homemade wheat roll and pumpkin pie with whipped topping.

Monday, Nov. 27 -- Ham loaf, Italian veggie pasta salad, scalloped potatoes, wheat roll and cinnamon applesauce.

Tuesday, Nov. 28 -- Pepperoni and beef pizza on homemade crust, calico veggie salad, zucchini, tomatoes and onions, and pineapple.

Wednesday, Nov. 29 -- Oven-fried chicken breast, crunchy garden slaw, green beans, roasted potatoes, wheat roll and honey bee ambrosia.

Thursday, Nov. 30 -- Ham and beans, cottage cheese and mandarin oranges, cornbread, parsley carrots and oatmeal raisin cookie.