Senior CommUnity meals for October

By Press Release


Senior CommUnity meals are served at four dining sites in Delta County -- Cedaredge Community Center (Monday-Thursday), Delta Community Center (Monday-Friday), Hotchkiss Senior Center (Monday-Thursday) and Paonia Senior Citizen Center (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). Meals on Wheels are also delivered from each location. More information is available by calling the Cedaredge meal site, 856-3636; the Delta meal site, 874-7662; Hotchkiss Senior Center, 872-3494; and Paonia Senior Citizen Center, 527-3435.

The menu through Oct. 31 follows:

Monday, Oct. 2 -- Meat loaf, mashed potatoes and gravy, tossed salad, broccoli and cinnamon roll.

Tuesday, Oct. 3 -- Cheeseburger on whole wheat bun, lettuce/onion/tomato, cucumber grape salad, baked beans and mixed fruit.

Wednesday, Oct. 4 -- Roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, honey-glazed carrots, kidney bean salad, wheat roll and strawberry shortcake.

Thursday, Oct. 5 -- Ham and beans, cornbread, cottage cheese and mandarin orange salad, parsley carrots and oatmeal raisin cookie.

Friday, Oct. 6 -- Roast pork loin, whipped sweet potatoes, Capri vegetables, whole wheat roll and peach cobbler.

Monday, Oct. 9 -- Baked ham and swiss sandwich, cream of potato soup, tossed salad, green pepper, carrot and onion blend and cherry crisp.

Tuesday, Oct. 10 -- Chicken enchilada casserole, Mexican rice, black bean salad, chuckwagon corn and pineapple tidbits.

Wednesday, Oct. 11 -- Oven-fried chicken breast, green beans, oven roasted potatoes, crunchy garden slaw, whole wheat roll and honey bee ambrosia.

Thursday, Oct. 12 -- Roast turkey with cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes and gravy, California blend veggies, green leafy salad, whole wheat roll and birthday cake.

Friday, Oct. 13 -- Baked lemon onion fish fillet, fish house coleslaw, potato wedges, whole wheat roll and peaches.

Monday, Oct. 16 -- Beef, cheese and rice burrito with green sauce, mandarin spinach salad, refried beans and churro.

Tuesday, Oct. 17 -- Pizza mac casserole, kidney bean salad, stewed tomatoes and apple crisp.

Wednesday, Oct. 18 -- Barbecue chicken breast, baked beans, vegetable blend, oatmeal roll and Greek yogurt with berries.

Thursday, Oct. 19 -- Barbecue beef sandwich on wheat bun, macaroni calico salad, broccoli with cheese sauce and green sunset yogurt dessert.

Friday, Oct. 20 -- Lasagna, tossed salad, green beans, garlic breadstick and tropical fruit.

Monday, Oct. 23 -- Southwest sausage egg bake, potatoes O'Brien, cinnamon raisin oatmeal, cranberry apricot scone and orange juice.

Tuesday, Oct. 24 -- Italian chicken breast, fettuccine primavera, bacon ranch pea salad, garlic bread, orange wedge and chocolate oatmeal no-bake cookie.

Wednesday, Oct. 25 -- Sloppy joes on wheat bun, green bell pepper coleslaw, parmesan potato wedges, western corn and honey bee ambrosia.

Thursday, Oct. 26 -- Ham loaf, scalloped potatoes, Italian vegetable pasta salad, whole wheat roll, mandarin oranges and bananas.

Friday, Oct. 27 -- Chicken salad on wheat bun, confetti salad, macaroni and cheese, V-8 juice and cranberry apple crisp.

Monday, Oct. 30 -- Pepperoni and beef pizza on homemade crust, tossed salad, zucchini, tomatoes and onions, and tropical fruit.

Tuesday, Oct. 31 -- Spaghetti with meat sauce, tossed salad, Italian vegetables, breadstick and diced peaches.