Senior meals for January

By Press Release


Senior CommUnity meals are served at four dining sites in Delta County -- Cedaredge Community Center (Monday-Thursday), Delta Community Center (Monday-Friday), Hotchkiss Senior Center (Monday-Thursday) and Paonia Senior Citizen Center (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). Meals on Wheels are also delivered from each location. More information is available by calling the Cedaredge meal site, 856-3636; the Delta meal site, 874-7662; Hotchkiss Senior Center, 872-3494; and Paonia Senior Citizen Center, 527-3435.

The menu through Jan. 29 follows:

Friday, Jan. 1 -- New Year's Day. No meal service.

Monday, Jan. 4 -- Spaghetti with meat sauce, buttered broccoli, mixed greens salad, garlic bread and gingerbread with lemon sauce.

Tuesday, Jan. 5 -- Italian chicken breast and thighs, potatoes O'Brien, stewed tomatoes, spinach and cheese salad, rye roll and apple crisp.

Wednesday, Jan. 6 -- Roast beef, mashed potatoes with gravy, chuckwagon vegetable blend, pickled beet and onion salad, wheat roll and cake with mandarin orange garnish.

Thursday, Jan. 7 -- Potato-crusted cod, winter blend vegetables, tossed salad with tomato, wheat roll and sunset yogurt dessert.

Friday, Jan. 8 -- Cheeseburger on whole wheat bun, lettuce, tomato, onion, baked sweet potato fries, green beans with red peppers, crunchy garden slaw and deluxe banana pudding.

Monday, Jan. 11 -- Savory herb chicken thighs, brown rice, peas and carrots, special tossed salad, Italian bread and warm cinnamon apple slices.

Tuesday, Jan. 12 -- Pepper steak on brown rice, oriental vegetables, egg drop soup, French bread and mandarin oranges and bananas.

Wednesday, Jan. 13 -- Chicken pot pie, beet and onion salad, onion roll and sliced peaches.

Thursday, Jan. 14 -- Roast turkey, stuffing, apple gravy, orange glazed carrots, whole wheat roll, orange wedge and pineapple right-side-up cake.

Friday, Jan. 15 -- Chicken enchilada casserole, Spanish rice, seasoned corn, mandarin spinach salad and ice cream with chocolate sauce.

Monday, Jan. 18 -- Ham loaf, baked potato with sour cream, seasoned peas, kidney bean salad, orange wedge and lemon pie cookie bar.

Tuesday, Jan. 19 -- Ground beef stroganoff, mashed potatoes with gravy, sweet yellow corn, tossed salad, rye roll and fruit cocktail.

Wednesday, Jan. 20 -- Tuna noodle casserole, fiesta blend vegetables, carrot fruit salad and bread pudding.

Thursday, Jan. 21 -- Chili con carne with onions and cheddar cheese, pea and cheese salad, cornbread with honey and creamy fruit mix dessert.

Friday, Jan. 22 -- Sloppy Joe on whole wheat bun, seasoned broccoli, potato salad and apple cobbler.

Monday, Jan. 25 -- Paprika chicken, creamy brown rice with mushrooms, cheesy vegetable soup, orange glazed carrots and peach crisp.

Tuesday, Jan. 26 -- Beef stew with potatoes, carrots, celery and onions, cottage cheese and pineapple, rye roll and honey fruit dessert.

Wednesday, Jan. 27 -- Hot ham and Swiss sandwich, oven-browned potatoes, tomato soup, Italian vegetable pasta salad and fruit cocktail.

Thursday, Jan. 28 -- Liver and onions or beef patty, mashed potatoes with gravy, four-way vegetable blend, tossed salad, oatmeal roll and fresh orange.

Friday, Jan. 29 -- meat loaf with tomato glaze, scalloped potatoes, Scandinavian vegetables, coleslaw and sliced pears.