Senior meals for September

By Press Release


Senior CommUnity meals are served at four dining sites in Delta County -- Cedaredge Community Center (Monday-Thursday), Delta Community Center (Monday-Friday), Hotchkiss Senior Center (Monday-Thursday) and Paonia Senior Citizen Center (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). Meals on Wheels are also delivered from each location. More information is available by calling the Cedaredge meal site, 856-3636; the Delta meal site, 874-7662; Hotchkiss Senior Center, 872-3494; and Paonia Senior Citizen Center, 527-3435.

The menu through Sept. 29 follows:

Friday, Sept. 1 -- Roast pork loin, whipped sweet potatoes, capri vegetables, whole wheat roll and peach cobbler.

Monday, Sept. 4 -- Labor Day. Meal sites closed.

Tuesday, Sept. 5 --Chicken enchilada casserole, Mexican rice, black bean salad, chuckwagon corn and pineapple tidbits.

Wednesday, Sept. 6 -- Roast beef, mashed potatoes and gravy, honey-glazed carrots, kidney bean salad, wheat roll and strawberry shortcake.

Thursday, Sept. 7 --Barbecue beef sandwich, macaroni calico salad, broccoli with cheese sauce and green sunset yogurt dessert.

Friday, Sept. 8 -- Baked lemon onion fish fillet, fish house coleslaw, potato wedges, whole wheat roll and peaches.

Monday, Sept. 11 -- Beef, cheese and rice burrito with green sauce, mandarin spinach salad, refried beans and churro.

Tuesday, Sept. 12 -- Pizza mac casserole, kidney bean salad, stewed tomatoes and apple crisp.

Wednesday, Sept. 13 -- Barbecue chicken breast, baked beans, vegetable blend, oatmeal roll and Greek yogurt with berries.

Thursday, Sept. 14 -- Roast turkey with cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes and gravy, green salad, California blend veggies, whole wheat roll and birthday cake.

Friday, Sept. 15 -- Lasagna, tossed salad, green beans, garlic breadstick and tropical fruit.

Monday, Sept. 18 -- Southwest sausage egg bake, potatoes O'Brien, cinnamon raisin oatmeal, orange juice and homemade raisin scone.

Tuesday, Sept. 19 --Italian chicken breast, fettucine primavera, bacon ranch pea salad, garlic bread, orange wedge and chocolate oatmeal no-bake cookie.

Wednesday, Sept. 20 -- Sloppy joes on wheat bun, green bell pepper coleslaw, parmesan potato wedges, western corn and honey bee ambrosia.

Thursday, Sept. 21 --Ham loaf, Italian vegetable pasta salad, scalloped potatoes, whole wheat roll, mandarin oranges and bananas.

Friday, Sept. 22 -- Chicken salad on wheat bun, confetti salad, mac and cheese, V-8 juice and cranberry apple crisp.

Monday, Sept. 25 -- Pepperoni and beef pizza on homemade crust, zucchini, tomatoes and onions, tossed salad and tropical fruit.

Tuesday, Sept. 26 -- Spaghetti with meat sauce, Italian vegetables, tossed salad, homemade breadstick and diced peaches.

Tuesday, Sept. 27 -- Chili con carne with cheddar cheese and diced onion, cornbread, tossed salad and citrus splash mousse cake.

Wednesday, Sept. 28 -- Salisbury steak, mashed potatoes and gravy, fresh veggie salad, whole wheat roll and strawberries with whipped topping.

Thursday, Sept. 29 -- Barbecue pork on a bun, pineapple coleslaw, potato wedges, candied bacon Brussels sprouts and rice pudding.