Town combines planning with zoning commission

By Tamie Meck

The Town of Paonia now has a functioning five-member Planning and Zoning Commission after the board of trustees approved combining the existing planning commission with the town Zoning Board of Adjustments.

Town code requires the town to have a five-member planning commission. Members must be town residents and include two elected officials -- the mayor and one board member, to be appointed by the mayor; and three additional members appointed by the mayor.

Town administrator Ken Knight urged approval of the consolidation of the two entities, stating that it's common for small towns to have a combined planning and zoning commission.

Mayor Charles Stewart and trustee Bill Bear, along with Barb Heck, Mary Bachran and Dave Knutson, who was appointed at the meeting, will serve on the newly-combined commission.