401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Vision Charter Academy celebrates grant awards

Related Articles
  Email   Print
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer The big check representing a $25,000 donation to the Food For Thought program was the cause for celebration at the Vision Charter Academy Cedaredge campus last week.

A celebration of new funding awarded to the Food For Thought program took place Feb. 1 at the Cedaredge campus of Vision Charter Academy.

The program has been awarded a $25,000 grant from the State Farm Neighborhood Assist program. The funds will be used for purchasing supplies for the Food for Thought program, said Willyn Webb, director.

In addition to the $25,000 grant, the Food For Thought Program also celebrated the award of $4,000 from Alpine Bank. That money will be used in conjunction with a previous $10,000 grant from the State Farm Good Neighbor Citizenship program in 2016 to set up a storage facility for the Food For Thought program. The storage facility will be located on the Vision Charter Academy Delta campus.

Vision Charter Academy was selected for the State Farm grant through a national competition process. The Food For Thought program provides nutritional supplement assistance for school-aged children and is a part of the Vision Charter Academy program, Webb explained.

Receiving special recognition during the announcement event and recognized as program stewards from the Vision Charter Academy board were Angie Gauthier, chair; Kristi Stratman; and Leann Jiron.

Many sponsors and contributors have helped with the Academy and its programs. Special thanks went to Image 1440 and Shawn Becker for Christmas food donations; Anytime Fitness; Daveto's; Doghouse Espresso; Kneeded Touch Massage for donating to the online voting drive for the $25,000 grant; Crossfit Members and Jody McCurdy for the Christmas food drive donations; Eckert Presbyterian Women for continued support; Delta Presbyterian Church for its $2,000 donation; Lincoln Elementary School for the food drive donations; Delta County Board of Eduction members Tammy Smith, Pete Blair, Ron Germann, Jill Jurca and Jan Tuin; DCSD leadership Caryn Gibson, Kurt Clay, Todd Markley, Connie Vincent; and VCA/DCSD liaison Delaine Hudson.

Read more from:
School Zone
Cedaredge, Vision Charter Academy
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: