401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421
People’s Choice “Human” by Sarrah Weaver
People’s Choice Runner-up by Felicity Wilmot
Photo by Pat Sunderland As part of the opening reception, young students went on a scavenger hunt. They were challenged to find a portrait, a piece of artwork with food, a Picasso-style painting, a piece of abstract art and others. The 20 clues piqued student interest while also educating them about concepts such as “monochromatic” and “still life.”

Awards listed for student artists

Related Articles
  Email   Print

If you haven't had a chance to stop by the Garden Center at 1970 S. Main in Delta to see the student art show, you have a few more opportunities. The show is open Monday-Thursday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., through April 22. There is no charge.

The 70,000-square-foot building is filled with works of art from virtually every elementary, middle and high school artist in Delta County. The art is organized by school.

The People's Choice Award went to Sarrah Weaver, a junior at Delta High School, for a digital piece titled "Human." Runner-up was Felicity Wilmot, a junior who worked with splatter paint.

The rest of the awards were determined by judge Thaddeus Smith, who spent over four hours studying student work and hanging awards. The winners included:

Chuck Close Award for Most Realistic Drawings and Paintings -- Melissa Lundy, Vision Charter Academy; Mackenzie Hill, Vision Charter Academy; and Axyle Belveal, Cedaredge.

Leonardo Da Vinci Award for Most Innovative Artist -- Cleya Hartter, Paonia, gold; Xena Inskeep, Delta, silver.

Vincent Van Gogh Award for Most Expressive Brushwork in Painting -- Abby Williams, Cedaredge, gold; Hunter Campbell, Cedaredge, silver.

Henry Matisse Award for Best Use of Color to Express Emotions -- Sarrah Weaver, Delta, gold; Alesha St. Peter, Delta, silver.

Wassily Kandinsky Award for Best Design of Non-Objective Work -- Felicity Wilmot, Delta, gold; Morgan Ristu, Paonia, silver.

Georgia O'Keeffe Award for Creative Cropping and Composition -- Hailee Ruble, Delta, gold; Carson Collins, Hotchkiss, silver.

Claude Monet Award for Best Depiction of Light on a Subject -- Abby Williams, Cedaredge, gold; Cleya Hartter, Paonia, silver.

Salvador Dali Award for Most Imaginative Combination of Subject Matter -- Xena Inskeep, Delta, gold; Sarrah Weaver, Delta, silver.

Jackson Pollock Award for the Most Expressive Artist (Messiest) --Abigail Vespia, Hotchkiss, gold; Stephanie Berrelleza, Delta, silver.

Michelangelo Award for Best in Sculpture -- Briar Wagner, Cedaredge, gold; Meeka Galyean, Delta, silver.

Houkusai Award for Best in Printmaking -- Abigail Vespie, Hotchkiss, gold; Bella Brezonick, Hotchkiss, silver.

Pablo Picasso Award for Best Abstract Artwork -- Alexia Quinn, Delta, gold; Abby Week, Delta, silver.

Andy Warhol Award for the Most Trendy Artwork -- Sadearah Hanson, Delta, gold; Raven Galbreath, Hotchkiss, silver.

Maria Martinez Award for Best Handbuilt Clay -- Mia Cowan, Paonia, gold; Jacob Stucker, Hotchkiss, silver.

George E. Ohr Award for Best Thrown Clay Vessel -- Justin Hanning, Delta, gold and silver.

Adams Award for Best Black & White Photography -- Brianna Grieger, Hotchkiss, first; Adam Kaster, Hotchkiss, silver.

William Addison Dwiggins Award for Best Graphic Design -- Grace Hatheway, Cedaredge, gold; Caitlyn Littlefield, Hotchkiss, silver.

Norman Rockwell Award for Best Illustrator -- Jaden Borgman, Hotchkiss, gold; Axyle Belveal, Cedaredge, silver.

Mary Cassatt Award for Best Portrait -- Cleya Hartter, Paonia, gold; Axyle Belveal, Cedaredge, silver.

Frida Kahlo Award for Best Use of Iconology & Symbolism -- Caitlyn Littlefield, Hotchkiss, gold; Orin Blankenship, Paonia, silver.

Marchel Ducamp Award for Breaking the Rules -- Orin Blankenship, Paonia, gold; Elena Melgoza, Delta, silver.

Frederic Remington Award for Best Landscape -- Amelia Hickman, Hotchkiss, gold; Grace Deck, Paonia, silver.

Edgar Degas Award for Best Capture of a Moment in Time --Hunter Campbell, Cedaredge, gold; Jesus Macias, Hotchkiss, silver.

Little's Awards

Little Jackson Pollock -- Joachim Jones, Lincoln Elementary.

Little Leonardo Da Vinci -- Keely - Taylor - Tia, Lincoln Elementary.

Little Pablo Picasso -- Kindra Judkins, North Fork Montessori at Crawford.

Little Michelangelo -- Brooklyn Matus, Hotchkiss K-8.

Little Mary Cassatt -- Brylan Cotten, Paonia.

Little Andy Warhol -- Paris West, Hotchkiss K-8.

Technique Awards

Photoshop -- Raynne Crocket, North Fork Montessori at Crawford.

String art -- Amanda Cotten, Delta.

Graphite -- Mikayla Rae Burnett, Hotchkiss.

Acrylic -- Trinity Rodrick, Hotchkiss.

Chalk Pastel -- Jaycie Duncan, Hotchkiss.

Charcoal -- Jeneve Rose Mitchell, Hotchkiss.

Watercolor -- Dalia Alejandre, Delta.

Photography -- Emma White, Paonia.

Jewelry -- Jesus, Hotchkiss.

Sculpture -- Adair Ela, Hotchkiss.

Mixed Media -- Dana Keil, Hotchkiss.

Honorable mentions -- Katlynn Winston, Vision Charter Academy; Isabella Spruies, Hotchkiss; Elena Melgoza, Delta; Aubrey Jones, Delta; Felicity Wilmot, Delta; Emily Volgamore, Delta.

Read more from:
School Zone
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: