Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

County planning commission reorganizes

Related Articles
  Email   Print

The responsibility of the Delta County Planning Commission is to adopt and maintain the county's Master Plan, review and make recommendation on county regulations, including the county's subdivision regulations, specific development regulations and other regulations related to land use that the county may consider.

The planning commission does not make broad policy recommendations outside planning and land use, unless expressly requested to do so by the Board of County Commissioners (BoCC).

In 1997 the BoCC established seven Area Planning Committees (APCs). Four of the original APCs remain, covering the Upper North Fork, Crawford, Leroux Creek and Surface Creek areas.

Participation on the APCs has been inconsistent over the years, with spotty attendance which often was too low to provide a quorum. In 2016 APC meetings were combined with planning commission meetings to reduce burden on applicants and on staff resources.

With the reorganization of the planning commission, the APCs will be eliminated and the terms of any present appointments will expire on the effective date of their term or on the date of the county's land use regulations being amended.

The planning commission will be expanded to include three associate members.

The planning commission will now consist of three members from each BoCC district, with alternating three-year terms, and one associate member from each commissioner district, with a three-year term.

To the extent feasible, the composition of the planning commission, including regular members and associate members, will include representation across each of the three commissioner districts.

The planning commission terms will be restructured to achieve the required balance of staggered terms, where approximately one-third of all planning commission seats will expire each year, and ensuring that expiring terms are balanced across all three districts.

In January 2019, the following steps will be taken:

Members of the planning commission whose terms expire in January 2019 may follow standard procedures and reapply for appointment.

Members of the planning commission with current terms will be reassigned new terms at the same time that new appointments are made in January 2019; however, members are not guaranteed the same term currently assigned. Each member of the planning commission will be appointed to one of three staggering terms.

Planning staff will advertise the associate member positions to identify interested parties to serve in this new capacity.

Current and past APC members are encouraged to apply for these associate member positions being established on the planning commission.

The planning commission bylaws, adopted and amended by the BoCC are rescinded. The BoCC directed the planning commission to adopt any rules it deems necessary to conduct its meetings, and to seek the advice of the county attorney and county community and economic development director to ensure the policies are consistent with Colorado Open Meeting Law, Colorado Open Records Act, and best management practices for open and transparent government.

The BoCC directed county staff to work with Delta County municipalities to initiate discussions on improved coordination/collaboration on land use related issues, including improved referral processes.

The commissioners noted that municipal participation on the APCs has been an essential component for coordination, and a new strategy is necessary to continue a strong relationship between the county and municipalities regarding land use coordination.

Read more from:
Commissioners, Planning Commission
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: