401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Devil's Thumb Open lists 2016 Edward Jones titlists

  Email   Print
Related Articles
Photo by Wayne Crick Glen-Michael Mahavetz tees off on number one Sunday morning. Mahavetz went on to earn the tournament's top gross score (140).

The first annual Edward Jones Devil's Thumb Open was played over the past weekend. Thirty-six golfers played for top honors by playing 18 holes on both Saturday and Sunday.

Earning top honors in the inaugural tournament, hosted by Edwards Jones, was Montrose's Glen-Michael Mahavetz with his gross score of 140 in championship flight play. Zane Sauer of Montrose was second in gross competition (140) and Michael Rusk third with a 145.

Dwain Bush shot a 134 to claim net honors with Montrose's Jacob Hebbel (141) placing second and Paonia's Steve Larson shooting a 143 to place third.

Jerry Sandoval scored a 152 to win top gross honors in first flight play with Jimmy Retherford (161) second and George Bock (172) finishing third.

On the net side in first flight action, Dan Burke was the winner with his 139. Second place went to Jeff Reiher (141). There was a three-way tie for third with Jim Timmerwilke of Cedaredge, Jon Burnett of Carbondale and Montrose's Ryan Lords shooting rounds of 148.

In second flight play, Delta's Leland Chadwick had a 172 for the tournament's top gross score for the tournament. Jimmy Schuster of Delta had a 193 to place second.

Eckert's Dominic Girodullo turned in a 178 to place first in net play for the second flight. Kenny Heinze's 198 was good for second place.

Read more from:
Devil's Thumb, Golf
  Email   Print

ERROR: adman element function 'groupad' doesn't exist.
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: