New statistics from the Colorado Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles indicate 96 percent of impaired driving suspects have their driver licenses revoked, regardless of whether they are ever convicted of a DUI in court. This finding underscores the consequences Colorado drivers face if they attempt to drive impaired.
Data provided for Delta County indicates 137 DUI/DWAI charges were filed in 2017; the average blood alcohol content (BAC) for suspects was 0.148.
If your ability is impaired to the "slightest degree" by alcohol, drugs or even prescription medications, or if your BAC is found to be in excess of .05 but less than .08, you can be charged with driving while ability impaired, or DWAI. Those who are "substantially incapable" of operating a vehicle after consuming alcohol, drugs or prescription medications, or whose BAC is at or above .08, may be charged with driving under the influence, or DUI.
A collaborative effort between the Delta County Sheriff's Office and municipal law enforcement agencies throughout Delta County has resulted in a proposal for a 1 percent sales tax increase to fund public safety. A PowerPoint presentation titled "Back the Badge" is starting to make the rounds at city/town council meetings, service club luncheons and other events.