Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Governor appoints Soper to judicial commission

Related Articles
  Email   Print
Photo submitted Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper shown with Matt Soper.

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper has appointed Orchard City native Matthew Soper to be a non-attorney and Republican member of the Seventh Judicial District Nominating Commission representing Delta County. Soper replaces Commissioner Bill Raley of Delta. The term is for six years. It commenced on Jan. 1 and concludes on Dec. 31, 2022.

"It is a tremendous opportunity to serve my state and my home county as a member of the 7th Judicial Nominating Commission," Soper said. "Our judicial district has benefited from many talented judges, who have maintained the rule of law and impeccable integrity over the years. It is an awesome responsibility to help in the selection process of future judges who will uphold those same values that makes the judiciary the shining light that it is today."

Colorado's merit system for selecting judges dates back to 1966, when a Colorado Bar Association and League of Women Voters' sponsored constitutional initiative was passed by voters. The initiative created the merit system, whereby governor appointed commissioners, representing each county in the judicial district, whose job is to interview judicial vacancy candidates and make recommendations to the governor for appointment. The commission is made up of attorney and non-attorney members and law forbids more than half of the commission being of the same political party. After a judge is appointed, she or he will face a retention election periodically.

Prior to 1966, judges were directly elected by the people. Judges' campaigns were financed largely by contributions from interested parties and there was a general feeling of impropriety.

In 1988 the legislature established a judicial performance commission to provide the electorate with information about the judges running to be retained on the bench.

The Seventh Judicial District includes: Delta, Montrose, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Ouray, and San Miguel Counties.

Read more from:
Surface Creek
Orchard City, People in the News
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: