401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Local Teachers of the Year place second in state VFW contest

Related Articles
  Email   Print

Three Delta County teachers who were honored by VFW Post and Auxiliary #3571 were also recognized at the state level.

On Loyalty Day, May 1, the post recognized Sharon Lee, Teacher of the Year at Lincoln Elementary School; David Piotrowski of Vision Charter Academy as Teacher of the Year on the middle school level; and Kelly Johnson, Teacher of the Year from Delta High School.

The contest recognizes teachers whose lessons include Americanism, citizenship and patriotism. Piotrowski's students raise and lower the U.S. flag every school day.

After receiving recognition locally and at the district level, the names of all three teachers were advanced to state-level competition. There they each placed second. "We're very proud of that," said Linda Stahly, in announcing the contest results at the July meeting of the Delta County School Board. Lee and Piotrowski received the congratulations of the school board; Johnson was unable to attend the meeting.

Stahly also announced the theme of the Voice of Democracy and Patriot Pen contests, and encouraged middle and high school students in Delta County to compete for the scholarships that are awarded as prizes.

Read more from:
school, Teachers
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: