Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Municipal election results

Related Articles
  Email   Print

On Tuesday, April 3, most municipalities in Delta County conducted elections. Delta, Orchard City, Hotchkiss, Paonia and Crawford voters selected new members of their town councils, as well as the fate of tax questions. Cedaredge cancels its town election because there were only enough candidates to fill its open board seats.

The following are unofficial results, as of 9 p.m. Tuesday, April 3:


In the one contested council seat, Kevin Carlson narrowly defeated Jay Stooksberry. Carlson received 770 votes (50.72%) to Stooksberry's 748 votes (49.28%).

Nathan Clay was unopposed, and was elected with 1,189 votes.

The City of Delta also posed two tax questions -- to impose sales tax and an excise tax on the sale of retail marijuana, if and when such sales are legal in the city. The voters approved both tax measures, with 60.82% in favor of the excise tax of 5% and 62.57% in favor of a sales tax of 2%.

Orchard City

In Orchard City the voters selected three trustees from a slate of six candidates. Jan Gage, Doug Keller and Mel Cook were elected to the town board of trustees.

Candidate -- Votes
*Jan Gage -- 701
*Doug Keller -- 620
*Mel Cook -- 572
Gary Tollefson -- 338
Robert Eckels -- 283
Joe Gorrod -- 215

The voters also were overwhelming opposed to three different taxing questions.

Measure 2D, which sought a mill levy increase, was defeated with 87.94% (897 votes) opposed and 12.06% (123 votes) in favor.

Measure 2E, which sought to impose a sales tax, excise tax and a transaction tax on the sale of marijuana, was defeated with 73.89% (897 votes) opposed and 26.11% (270 votes) in favor.

Measure 2F, which would have imposed a municipal sales tax of 3%, was defeated with 84.11% (868 votes) opposed and 15.89% (164 votes) in favor.


In Paonia, the voters selected four trustees from a slate of 10 candidates. Chelsea Bookout, Mary Bachran, Samira Hart and Barry Pennell were the top vote getters.

Candidate -- Votes
*Chelsea Bookout -- 308
*Mary Bachran -- 305
*Samira Hart -- 232
*Barry Pennell -- 232
Suzanne Watson -- 185
David Bradford -- 178
Ross King Jr. -- 158
William Brunner -- 116
Roger Baril -- 75
James Thompson -- 48

Paonia voters did approve an increase in the town's sales tax, from 2 to 3%. The vote was 264 (52.28%) in favor, and 241 (47.72%) opposed.


In Hotchkiss, the only contested race was for mayor. Larry Wilkening won with 191 votes over Thomas Wills, who received 61 votes.

Four trustees were also elected from a slate of four candidates. Ester Koontz, Patricia Medina, Mary Hockenbery and Sheila Maki were elected as trustees.

Candidate -- Votes
*Esther Koontz -- 186
*Patricia Medina -- 164
*Mary Hockenberry -- 140
*Sheila Maki -- 119


In Crawford, four trustees were selected from a slate of six candidates. Mike Tiedeman, Chris Johnson, Ralph Clark and Jessica Hart were elected as trustees.

Candidate -- Votes
*Mike Tiedeman -- 88
*Chris Johnson -- 83
*Ralph Clark -- 73
*Jessica Hart -- 70
Jeff Peed -- 66
Julie Kinder -- 41

The voters did approve a measure authorizing a special sales tax and excise tax of 5% on the sale of retail marijuana, if and when such sales become legal in the town.

Read more from:
Crawford, Delta, election, Hotchkiss, Orchard City, Paonia
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: