The nomination period for DMEA's 2019 board of directors elections opened earlier this month. Each year, DMEA members are responsible for electing three representatives to serve on the co-op's board of directors. This year, the board seats up for election are District 3, District 4, and the South Region. Currently, the following members hold these seats: Brad Harding, District 3; Ken Watson, District 4; Tony Prendergast, South Region (term-limited).

Eligible candidates must be members of DMEA and a resident in the district in which they are seeking election. To become a candidate, members must complete the self-nomination packet. The packets are available at DMEA's offices: 11925 6300 Rd., Montrose or 21191 H75 RD., Delta. To confirm in which district you reside, call 1-877-687-3632.

Completed petition packets, including 15 member signatures supporting your candidacy, must be returned to DMEA no later than 4 p.m. Monday, May 6. Petitions must be returned during normal business hours and can be dropped off at the DMEA offices in Montrose or Delta.

Nomination petitions received after the May 6 deadline cannot be considered.

DMEA members will receive their ballot by mail. Members are encouraged to vote by mail before June 14 in order to ensure their ballots arrive on time. Members can also place their completed ballots in the new ballot drop boxes in either DMEA lobby before 5 p.m. on June 19, or vote in person at the annual meeting on Thursday, June 20, at Hotchkiss High School.


Load comments