Delta County School District Board Members. Back row: (l- r) Ron Germann, Dan Burke and Jan Tuin. Front row (l-r) Linda Ewing and Beth Suppes.

Current Delta County School District Board Members. Back row: (l- r) Ron Germann, Dan Burke and Jan Tuin. Front row (l-r) Linda Ewing and Beth Suppes. 

Delta County voters will have an opportunity to elect two new school board members to the Delta County School District Board of Directors this November.

The open positions are for District One currently held by Ron Germann and District Five held by Jan Tuin, who serves as board president. Germann was elected to the school board in 2013 while Tuin was appointed to the school board in 2012 to fill a vacated position.

By law Colorado school board elections are held each odd-numbered year on the first Tuesday in November as part of its “coordinated” elections. The Delta County clerk and recorder serves as the election official for the school board election and oversees candidate nomination and acceptance of nomination, preparing for and conducting the election, as well as providing election results.

Six candidates will be listed on the 2021 Delta County Coordinated Election Ballot under School District Offices for the position of Director of Delta County Board of Education.

District One candidates representing precincts 1-4 in the Delta area are Kristine Hines and Shannon Crespin. District Five candidates representing precincts 17-20 in the North Fork area are Luke McCrain, Brian Kopko, Jennifer McGavin and Nicole Milner. Candidates are running for a four year term.

In addition to the six school board candidates, the 2021 coordinated election in Delta County will also have three state and three local measures on the ballot.

Election ballots will be mailed to all active Delta County voters between Oct. 11-15. In person voting begins at the Delta County Courthouse in Delta on Oct. 25. In person voting is also available at the North Fork Annex in Hotchkiss on Election Day — Nov. 2, 2021.

Prior to running, candidates for the Delta County school board had to file a written statement of intent, a completed nomination petition and an affidavit of candidate/ qualifications and acceptance form.

To be qualified to run candidates must be registered voters presiding in the overall school district for at least twelve consecutive months prior to the election and must be a resident of the district that he or she is running for.

Persons who have been convicted of a sexual offense against a child are not eligible for the office of director of a school district. If a person becomes ineligible for this reason while serving on the school board, a vacancy for that position will be declared, according to Delta County School District policies.

The six school board candidates were responsible for filing any campaign finances through the Secretary of State’s online reporting system (TRACER) on the Colorado Secretary of State website,

A candidate forum will take place at 6 p.m. on Sept. 28 at the Surface Creek Community Church in Austin. The forum, hosted by the Delta County Republicans, is open to the public.

The Delta County Independent will have more information on each candidate in an informative Q&A in the upcoming Oct. 6 newspaper.

Load comments