401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Nursing students receive scholarships

Related Articles
  Email   Print

Delta-Montrose Technical College hosted a scholarship luncheon Tuesday, March 8, for students in the practical nursing program. Through the generosity of the community twenty-five scholarships were awarded to DMTC practical nursing students, for a total of $13,400.

The Hotchkiss Kiwanis presented its ninth annual nursing scholarship this year. The Hothckiss Kiwanis disbanded its club last year, but had enough money left in the scholarship account to continue to award scholarships for two years. Hotchkiss Kiwanis awarded $350 scholarships to Chelsea Ballard and Adrianna Madrid, and $250 scholarships to Rex Swain and Christina Tofsrud. The scholarship was presented by Birdie Young, director of the practical nursing program in the absence of Earl Busby, who passed away last year, and his wife Katie who did the presentation in years past. Funds for this scholarship came from the annual fish fry each spring and Christmas tree sales at the Hotchkiss City Market parking lot. The Hotchkiss Kiwanis group's mission is to help children and it felt that helping train nursing students ultimately ensures quality care for children.

Delta Rotary, represented by John Triebwasser, awarded $1,000 scholarships to Luis Luna and Sherrie Steele, and $500 scholarships to Dani Jones, Ashley Aragon and Alexis Ruiz.

The Barclay/Davis Nursing Excellence Award was presented by Shari Barclay and Judy Davis. The $500 scholarship went to Patricia VanHeltebrake. This scholarship is awarded to a student with high academic standing in the program. Donations may be made to this scholarship through DMTC at any time.

Horizons Care Center, represented by Kelly Mathieu, director of nursing, and Tammy Blanchette, human resource manager, presented eight scholarships. Luis Luna and Rex Swain were each awarded $1,000, Miriah Thorn and Christina Tofsrud were awarded $500 each, Ashley Aragon and Patricia VanHeltebrake were each awarded $250, and Alexis Ruiz and Dani Jones were each awarded $200 scholarships.

The Preceptor Gamma Alpha Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi was represented by Phyllis Goad. The chapter honored Sherrie Steele with a $300 scholarship.

Beta Sigma Phi of Montrose was represented by Joan Pride, Bonita Hammond, Nadine Ward and Ruth Heath. They honored Lyndsey Foster and Richelle Walker with $500 scholarships.

The North Fork Valley Rotary Club awarded a $1,500 scholarship to Rachel Pemberton from the North Fork area. It was presented by Tony Bowling, DMTC assistant director who stood in for Felix Belmont, the North Fork Valley Rotary Club Scholarship Committee chairman who was unable to attend.

Two new scholarships were also awarded to practical nursing students at DMTC this year.

The Bank of Colorado, represented by Matt Evans, president, awarded a $500 scholarship to Lyndsey Foster.

The Benevolent and Protective Order of the Elks Lodge #1235 awarded a $500 scholarship to Sherrie Steele. Clarence Mansker and Steve Sidebottom presented the scholarship.

One scholarship was awarded earlier this year. The Alice Penick Memorial Nursing Scholarship was presented by the Philanthropic Education Organization (PEO) BK Chapter of Delta in February. Linda Castillo was the recipient of the $500 scholarship.

The nursing staff and students at DMTC would like to thank the community for its generosity and support.

Read more from:
School Zone
Delta Montrose Technical College, Scholarship
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: