Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Paonia seniors awarded 49 scholarships

Related Articles
  Email   Print
Photo by Tamie Meck The Paonia High School class of 2019 scholarship recipients were recognized at an awards dinner held Monday, May 13. Back row (from left): Jesse Burns, Taralee Mautz, Soul Connolly, Ethan Bartlett, Poppy Lightfoot, Angela Reynolds; fro

Fifteen seniors from the Paonia High School graduating class of 2019 were awarded 49 scholarships totaling $69,200 Monday evening at the annual Senior Scholarship Awards Ceremony.

Among the Clem Audin Jr. and Evelyn Audin Youth Scholarship of $300 was awarded to Sabrina Leighton and Taralee Mautz; a Youth Scholarship of - Jade Ellenberger; and a Youth Scholarship of $900 - Jesse Burns.

The Western Colorado Community Foundation presented the $1,000 renewable Kay Armstrong Memorial Scholarship - Poppy Lightfoot, Ethan Bartlett; the Welden Crousen Scholarship of $500 - Calvin Reese; the Didrickson-Niles Scholarship of $800 - Sabrina Leighton, Taralee Mautz; the David Moore Scholarship of $1,000 for students of vocal and instrumental music programs - Jade Ellenberger, Jesse Burns; the Thomas Ward Osborn Scholarship of $500 for a student who plans to attend the Technical College of the Rockies - Angela Reynolds; and the first ever Andrew and Mary Rebeck Scholarship of $5,000 - Jade Ellenberger.

Richard Rezak Memorial Booster Club Scholarship of $500 - Jesse Burns.

Colorado Mesa University Principal's Scholarship of $1,000 - Soul Connolly, Sackett Chesnik, David Lozano, Gavin Weiss, Shyliea Clark.

Coordinating Council of Delta County School District scholarship of $700 for students planning a teaching career - Poppy Lightfoot.

Second annual "Live Like Casey" scholarship of $500 in memory of former student-athlete Casey Gillenwater - Poppy Lightfoot.

Ute Trails Car Club Harold and Ellen Smith Memorial Scholarship of $750, presented May 11 at the annual Ute Trails Car Show - Harley Ewert; the Ute Trails Mike Furculow Memorial Scholarship of $750 - Angela Reynolds.

Colorado Elks Association Scholarship of $500 - Jade Ellenberger.

Independent Order of Odd Fellows Delta #116 Scholarship of $1,000 - Ethan White.

Paonia Lions Club Memorial Scholarship of $500 in honor of recently-deceased Lions - Poppy Lightfoot, Jesse Burns.

PHS Alumni Class of 1958 Scholarship of $500 - Jesse Burns, Ethan White, Poppy Lightfoot, Jaquelin Mora.

Colorado Masonic Lodge Memorial Scholarship of $750 in memory of deceased member Paul Cranor - Jesse Burns, Taralee Mautz; the Colorado Masonic Vocational Scholarship of $1,000 - Angela Reynolds; the Colorado Masons Benevolent Fund Association Scholarship for $28,000 ($7,000 per year for four years) - Jade Ellenberger.

Rotary Club of the North Fork Valley Scholarship of $2,000 - Poppy Lightfoot, Jaquelin Mora.

American Public Works Association West Slope Branch Public Works scholarship of $500 - Calvin Reese.

Delta County Democratic Scholarship of $500, presented in memory of Ed Marston - Calvin Reese.

The First Colorado National Bank Scholarship of $750 - Taralee Mautz, Poppy Lightfoot.

American Legion Wilson-Head Post 97 Scholarship of $500 - Ethan White, Jade Ellenberger, Jesse Burns.

Paonia Fire Department Scholarship of $500 - Poppy Lightfoot, Sabrina Leighton.

Delta-Montrose Electric Association District 3 Scholarship of $2,000 from the Unclaimed Capital Credit Fund - Ethan Bartlett.

The Wendy's High School Heisman Award for outstanding high school senior athletes - David Lozano, Taralee Mautz, Soul Connolly.

Cherry Days Royalty Scholarships of $100 and $1,000 - Sabrina Leighton, Poppy Lightfoot, Jade Ellenberger, Jesse Burns, Soul Connolly (the Cherry Days king and queen will be crowned on July 4 during the annual Cherry Days celebration and receive a $1,000 scholarship; other royalty candidates will each receive a $100 scholarship).

Ethan White and Jade Ellenberger were named co-Valedictorians of the Class of 2019; Poppy Lightfoot and Taralee Mautz were named co-Salutatorians.

The Paonia High School Outstanding Juniors Awards were presented by the Masonic Lodge to Rockley Neal and Katya Schwieterman.

A new award by the Delta County Democratic Society in the amount of $250 was presented to English teacher Kreszenze "Kriss" Allen. The award came with $100 gift card to PJ's Neighborhood Pub in Hotchkiss, a certificate and a plaque. The award was created when the scholarship committee realized that, in their scholarship applications, all of the students gave credit for their success to Mrs. Allen.

Read more from:
School Zone
PHS, Scholarship
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: