Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer Daniel Roberts accepted the big check from Petty Officer Murphy, a $180,000 Navy ROTC scholarship to attend Ohio State University.
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer Isaac Swoffer and Shayna Dale were named athletes of the year for the class of 2017.
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer The CHS class of 2017 had a Daniels Scholar this year, Tré LaBossiere.

Seniors are shown support with scholarships

Related Articles
  Email   Print

Local businesses, organizations, and individuals stepped up along side of national organizations and displayed their support for the community's youth and its future on May 16. Over $380,000 in scholarship assistance for CHS graduating seniors was presented during the school's annual senior awards banquet.

Over 40 of the 62 graduates in the class of 2017 were presented with scholarship awards that night, said principal Randy Brown. The high-achieving class had 37 members who took advance placement college courses, and almost one-fourth of the class, 15 members, earned grade point averages of 3.5 or higher over the course of their high school careers and also membership in National Honor Society, according to the evening's program.

Two major scholarship awards were presented. Daniel Roberts earned a Navy ROTC scholarship of $180,000 to attend Ohio State University. And, Tré LaBossiere earned a $33,800 per year scholarship for four years from the Daniels Fund.

The Principal's Award for academics, participation, and character went to Tory Wilson. Athletes of the year were Isaac Swoffer and Shayna Dale.

In addition, the following scholarship awards were announced and presented at the May 16 banquet.

Cedaredge Masonic Lodge $1,000 to Tory Wilson. Colorado Masons Benevolent Fund $1,000 to Gus Sandels.

Cedaredge Rotary Club $1,000 per year for four years to Lexee Wilson and also to Tory Wilson; $1,000 awards to Megan Toothaker, Brooke Toothaker, Callie Wasser, and Colter Wagner.

Elberta Rebekah Lodge #106, $500 to Cierra Roundtree. Rocky Mountain Lodge #2 IOOF, $5,000 to Megan Toothaker; $2,500 each to Colter Wagner, Tory Wilson, and Gus Sandels.

PEO Chapter $1,000 to Shayna Dale.

Surface Creek Valley Lions Club $1,000 each to Gus Sandels and Krystal Davis; and, $1,000 to Lexee Wilson.

DMEA $2,000 to Lexee Wilson.

Cedar Mesa Community Club $1,000 each to Cole Stumpf and Caleb Williams. And, the Emma Cox Memorial $500 each to Megan Toothaker and Morgan Archibeque.

Delta County Livestock Association Bob Ensley Memorial $2,000 to Lexee Wilson; Denise Kossler Memorial $1,000 to Tory Wilson; and Education Opportunity Grant $1,000 to Brendon Klaseen.

Delta County Democratic Party $500 to Lexee Wilson.

Cedaredge FFA Alumni Association $500 each to Brendon Klaseen and Lexee Wilson. National FFA/Hellman Ford Truck $1,000 each to Lexee Wilson and Tory Wilson.

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 9221, $1,000 to Krystal Davis; Post 9221 Auxiliary $1,000 to Sarah Tullis.

Zeta Omicron/ESA $500 to Lexee Wilson and $300 to Taniall Scroggins; and $500 to Gus Sandels.

Delta County Federal Credit Union $1,250 to Zach Anderson; and Western Colorado Credit Union $1,000 to Zach Anderson.

Cedaredge Community United Methodist Church $1,000 each to Megan Toothaker, Brooke Toothaker, and Gus Sandels.

CropWorx Ag scholarship $1,000 per year for four years to Lexee Wilson.

Cedaredge Rod and Gun Club $500 each to Zach Anderson, Krystal Davis, and Morgan Archibeque. Backpack/Bela Scholarship $500 to Sara Tullis.

Cedaredge American Legion Post #104, $1,000 to Taniall Scroggins.

Cedaredge National Honor Society $250 each to Brooke Toothaker, Megan Toothaker, and Lexee Wilson.

Delta County Coordinating Council $360 to Cierra Roundtree.

Bryan Sandham Memorial $400 to Brandon O'Hern.

Lynne Sederstron Scholarship $350 to Morgan Archibeque.

Ronald McDonald House $1,500 to Kaeli Baugh.

CHS Journalism Scholarships $500 to Kaeli Baugh, $100 each to Brooke Toothaker and Megan Toothaker.

Western Colorado Community Foundation Awards: Kay Armstrong Memorial $1,000 per year for four years to Megan Toothaker; Stewart/Watson/Wheeler Scholarship $1,500 to Lexee Wilson; Didrickson-Noles Scholarship $1,054 each to Colter Wagner and Brooke Toothaker; and Caddo Scholarship $5,000 to Colter Wagner.

Farmers Union Dale Smith Scholarship $1,000 to Lexee Wilson.

Colorado Mesa University Scholarship $1,000 to Kali Baugh; and $500 each to Olivia Bradford, Taniall Scroggins, Cierra Roundtree and Ben Kier.

Also recognized as scholar athletes (two letters and GPA 3.5 or better) were Caleb Wiliams, Colter Wagner, Tory Wilson, Tré LaBossiere, Makayla McKinney, Brendon Klaseen, Callie Wasser, Brandon O'Hern, Zach Anderson and Cole Stumpf.

Recognized as three-sport letter athletes were Tré LaBossiere, Brendon Klaseen, Brandon O'Hern, Cole Stumpf, Christian Reynolds, and Isaac Swoffer.

Read more from:
School Zone
Cedaredge, CHS, Scholarship
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: