Cedaredge High School wins regional wrestling title

Cedaredge High School won last weekend's CHSAA 2A Region 1 wrestling title in Montrose. The Bruins scored 244 points to easily win the team title with six champions being crowned.

Cedaredge High School had what was needed to win last weekend's CHSAA 2A Region 1 wrestling tournament in Montrose on Feb. 14-15. The Bruins scored 244 points to outdistance the tournament's second place team, Hotchkiss, by 76 points. Cedaredge coach Cutter Garrison began his journey with Cedaredge High School with some lean years.

"This year's regional win included six regional champions, one runner-up and three third place finishes," said Garrison, who emphatically stated his team's performance was a "dominant performance!"

Cedaredge's first title came in the 113-pound bout with Lane Hunsberger (36-2) winning his quarterfinal bout over Norwood's Aiden Walton by fall, 0:29. A fall over Paonia's Ace Connolly in the semifinal round was by fall, 2:23, and the title match was a 5-0 decision over Meeker's Ty Goedert. In the 126-pound weight division, Trey Geyer (38-3) placed first with wins over Logan Farnsworth of Paonia (fall, 1:32), Charles Curry of Meeker (fall, 0:37) and a pin against North Park's Destry Schmidt in the title bout (3:52). At 132 pounds, Sean Dale (33-4) started with a bye then pinned Soroco's Gavyn Salberg (1:04) in a quarterfinal round then entered the finals with a pin against Mancos' Lane Greenlee in his semifinal round match. The title bout with Hayden's Dylan Zimmerman was a 9-6 decision for Dale. AJ Robidoux followed with Cedaredge's fourth title at 138 pounds, beginning with a bye then a fall over Soroco's Gene Bracegirdle (1:05), a sudden victory-1 over Paonia's Reagan Todd, (SV- 4-2) and in the finals a quick fall over Hayden's Wyatt Murphy (1:40).

Adrian Nieto (31-13), won his title in the 145-pound weight division with falls over Gaige Cressler of Dove Creek (0:24), Nucla's Jamar Rankins (2:25) and Rangely's Zane Varner (2:00). Nieto won the title with a hard-fought 2-1 decision over Hotchkiss' JD Miller. Derek Sanchez (33-4) won the sixth title for Cedaredge in the 285-pound weight division. Sanchez won by fall over West Grand's Manny Torres (0:25) in his quarterfinal round, won by pin over Rangely's Byron Mackay (1:40) in his semifinal round bout and finished the tournament with a fall (1:05) over Hotchkiss' Christian Matus.

Cedaredge 170-pounder Ty Walck (26-12) finished second in this year's regional competition and began the tournament with a bye. Walck's quarterfinal round was a win by fall over West Grand's Landon Williams in 0:30. Walck recorded a fall in his semifinal round over Hayden's Garrett Salazar (0:55) to reach the finals against Hotchkiss' Jace Peebles in the title bout. Peebles was tested by Walck and eventually won by fall at 5:16.

Ryan Imhoff (24-15) won his opening 120-pound weight battle with a fall over Norwood's Joshua Alexander in 4:18. Imhoff won a 6-4 decision against Mancos' Ayden Matthews in the quarterfinals but fell to Hotchkiss' Robert Cochran, 3-0, in the semifinal round. Imhoff won a major decision (13-1) over Meeker's Kaden Franklin in the consolation semifinal round and scored a 5-1 decision over Mancos' Mathews in the third place match. Dusty Emig just missed wrestling for a title at 182 after scoring a fall (0:07) over Paonia's Trenton Gaston then falling to Meeker's Colby Clatterbaugh in a 9-4 decision in the semifinal round. Emig won his consolation with a fall over Dolores' Cael Schmittell (1:23) and finishing with a fall over Hotchkiss' Justin Mattison (3:14) in the third place bout.

In the 195-pound weight division, David Lopez (20-13) finished third after receiving a bye in the opening round before falling to Paonia's Anthony Miller in the semifinals by a 7-0 decision. Lopez had a bye in consolation semifinals and scored a fall over Hotchkiss' Sam Ware (0:40) to win the third place bout.

The Bruins' Christopher Alejandre (8-15) finished the tournament with a fifth place finish and scored nine points. Alejandre won his opener, 6-3, over Ignacio's Jeremy Roderick and then lost to Dolores' Bryan Escarcega by fall (3:06) in quarterfinal action. Alejandre received a bye in round two of the consolation bracket and then won by a 7-6 decision over Rangely's Dalton Dembowski in the third round of consolation competition. Alejandre lost a 1-0 decision to Cordell Garriott (North Park) in consolation semifinals and defeated Soroco's Tristan Singer, 1-0, for fifth place.

Brian Hoerr (19-17) placed sixth for the Bruins with an opening round win over Hayden's Jake Lindley by fall (2:42), and then lost to Paonia's Zeb Etter by fall (0:28) in the quarterfinals. A win by major decision (11-1) over Meeker's Trinden Powell in consolation round 2 and another major decision over Dolores' Levi Fuller (9-1) in consolation round three. A loss to Ignacio's Tyler Barnes (8-1) in consolation semifinals pitted Hoerr against Mancos' Colt Fury in the fifth place match where Fury won by fall (3:23).

Load comments