With a successful season comes postseason honors, and that’s just what the Cedaredge High School Bruins softball team received. Following a trip to the Class 3A Colorado High School State Softball Championships, the Bruins had several student-athletes who were recognized for their play. Earning all-conference first team honors were Jazmyn Hart, Elle Lewis and Summer Young. Ivy Kirk and Lauren Pierce each received all-conference honorable mention. Lewis and Young also made the Colorado Coaches of Girls’ Sports (CCGS) all-state team, as well. Cedaredge finished third in the Western Slope League with a 15-10 overall record under the guidance of head coach Terry Montoya.

The Delta High School softball team qualified for a regional tournament, and as a result brought in several postseason honors. Recognized as all-conference first team was junior Keely Porter. Making the honorable mention list were sophomore Teja Smith and freshman Jill Robinson. Led by head coach Jerry Sandoval, Delta showed heart and grit in qualifying for the postseason. Although it was eliminated, the team gained valuable experience, something that will surely lead to future success for the young team.

Load comments