Paonia High School’s cross country team took the week off while fellow harriers from Delta and Hotchkiss high schools attended meets in separate locations Sept. 20. Delta was one of 16 teams participating In the Anna Banana in Fruita at Snook’s Bottom and the Bulldogs were at Ridgway State Park for the Ramble at the Reservoir.

At the Anna Banana, Sierra Bower (Basalt) won the girls competition with her 18:33.4. Delta had eight girls competing in the event. In total, there were 85 runners on the course at the beginning of the race.

Delta’s top five runners, who came together in the team race, were Kylee Terry (42nd, 23:26.90), Emma Corbasson (62nd, 25:40.70), Grace Hall (69th, 26.55.50), Tayler Huntley (71st, 27:11.40) and Sophia McCrackin (80th, 30:47.30).

The Panthers placed 11th overall, with 288 points, and Durango won the team title with 40.

In the boys race, 87 runners were running for the individual title. Durango’s Luke Tichi circuited the course in 16:27.70 to earn first place with Delta’s contingent (top five places) finishing in the following order; Shad Lewis (24th, 18:44), Braeden Sprout (60th, 20:59.40), Doyle Young (67th, 21:59.30), Zach McMillan (71st, 22:28.20) and Enrique Gonzales (75th, 22:44.30).

Delta’s boys finished with an overall 274 points to place ninth in the team race. Zuni High School (NM) won the boys title with 42 points.

Hotchkiss, competing in the Ramble at the Reservoir, and finished fifth in both the girls and boys races.

In the girls race, Aspen’s Kylie Kenny finished first with her 22:29.46. The top five places for the Hotchkiss girls included Karlie Egging (15th, 27:54.18), Isabella Spano (22nd, 29:05.70), Nadia Hill (29th, 30:09.25), Adair Ela (30th, 30:44.90) and Grace Hatheway (37th, 31:32.31).

Aspen won the team title with seven points and Hotchkiss finished with 42.

With a 20:34.93, Telluride’s Cole Pacosza crossed the finish line first to win the boys race. Hotchkiss’ top four runners included Kenny Drbohlav (12th, 22:32.27), Tevin Keller (19th, 23:47.22), J.D. Miller (24:38.18) and Ben Rodriguez (41st, 26:31.53).

Caprock Academy won the team title with 19 points and Hotchkiss had 55.

All three Delta County cross country teams are scheduled to participate 10 a.m. Friday, Sept. 27, at Sweitzer Lake.

Load comments