Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Unofficial municipal election results

Related Articles
  Email   Print

The ballots have been tallied, and the following are the results of the voting in each of the county's municipalities, according to the Delta County Clerks Office:


Hotchkiss voters turned down ballot measures that would have authorized retail or medical marijuana facilities in the community. The medical marijuana measure was rejected with 156 against and 133 in favor; the retail marijuana measure was defeated with 161 against and 129 in favor. A third measure, adding a 2 percent sales tax to marijuana sales, was a moot issue since neither measure authorizing sales was passed.

Hotchkiss voters also selected four trustees, from a slate of six candidates. The top three will serve four-year terms, and the fourth will serve a two-year term. The vote tallies were:

  1. Larry Jakubiak - 201
  2. John Marta - 175
  3. James Roberts - 172
  4. Mary Hockenbery - 137
  5. Patrick Webb - 128
  6. Ralph Sandmann II - 94


In Paonia, Charles Stewart, running unopposed, was elected mayor with 310 votes.

Three trustees were also elected, from a field of nine candidates.

  1. Karen Budinger - 219
  2. William Bear - 211
  3. Bill Brunner - 177
  4. Chelsea Bookout - 174
  5. Ross C. King - 169
  6. Mary Bachran - 168
  7. Eric Goold - 165
  8. Jill Spears - 114
  9. Barry Pennell - 113


In a tight race for mayor, Wanda Gofforth edged out Gill Sauners by two votes. Gofforth tallied 69 votes to Saunders' 67.

The Crawford voters also selected four trustees from a slate of six candidates.

  1. Tammy Broughton - 113
  2. John Paton - 103
  3. Hetty Todd - 91
  4. Chriss Watters - 91
  5. Carl Page - 54
  6. Jay Ziegler - 50

The top thee vote getters are to serve four-year terms and the fourth a two-year term. However, Todd and Watters tied with 91 votes so the terms have not yet been determined.


Gene Welch won the mayoral race in Cedaredge, garnering 274 votes to defeat Raymond Hanson, who received 256 votes.

There were only two candidates seeking election, with three seats to fill on the board of trustees. Dayton Myers, Jr., with 389 votes, and Robert Michael, with 338 votes, were elected.

Orchard City

Ken Volgamore was elected mayor in Orchard City, tallying 431 votes against Jan Gage, who received 311 votes.

Four trustees were also elected, from a slate of four candidates:

  1. Craig Fuller - 592
  2. Dick Kirkpatrick - 551
  3. Gynee Thomassen - 518
  4. Thomas Huerkamp - 395

The voters also approved a ballot measure, re-establishing the Town of Orchard City's right to provide services restricted by Title 29, Article 27, including telecommunication, cable television and advanced services such as broadband internet. The measure is similar to ballot questions approved by voters in the other municipalities in the county last year. The vote tally was 630 in favor and 116 against.


Delta voters elected three trustees.

Ron Austin, running unopposed, was elected to represent District A. He received 860 votes.

Gerald Roberts, running unopposed, was elected to represent District B. He received 855 votes.

Christopher Ryan, with 598 votes, defeated Wilford "Faye" Mathews, with 399 votes, and will served a councilmember at-large.

Read more from:
Cedaredge, Crawford, Delta, Election, Hotchkiss, Orchard City, Paonia
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: