Effective Monday, July 1, vaping is prohibited indoors in most public places. The new law aligns smoking and vaping by adding vaping to the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act, which already prohibited smoking indoors in most public places.
The change comes as Colorado high school students are found to vape twice as much as the national average. A key strategy to addressing youth use of these products is to eliminate them in public spaces, as youth can be highly sensitive to normalization and perceptions of harm based on what they see in their environment.
The new law also increases the distance from public entrances where people can smoke or vape from 15 to 25 feet. Studies show to completely avoid exposing others to secondhand smoke in an outdoor area, a person who is smoking may have to move as far away as 25 feet. According to statewide surveys, outside the doorway to a building is the most common place Coloradans report "having to put up with" secondhand smoke.
The new law will help protect customers and service industry employees at restaurants and bars, for example, from the cancer-causing chemicals, heavy metals and nicotine that are in the vapor that comes from vape devices.
Any agencies or businesses in Delta County that need support updating their policies to be in compliance with the new law, can contact the Delta County Health Department for technical assistance at 970-874-2165.
Tobacco use is still the number one cause of preventable death in Colorado and is linked to about 30 percent of all cancer deaths. Quitting smoking is the most important thing a smoker can do to be healthy. Individuals who are ready to quit tobacco/nicotine products can access free support and resources through the Colorado QuitLine at 1-800-QUIT-NOW or coquitline.org.