401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer Kayla Miller placed second for her essay on “The America I Believe In.”
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer Lee Marts VFW Post Commander and District Chaplain Corky Ware presents Tré Johnson with his award for winning the Voice of Democracy Audio Essay competition for 2016.
Photo by Hank Lohmeyer Delta Middle School student Raelee McCurdy is the winner of the Patriotic Pen Essay Competition.

VFW honors top student writers

Related Articles
  Email   Print

Members of Delta's Lee Marts Veterans of Foreign Wars Post #3571 and auxiliary gathered with friends for their annual Christmas banquet Dec. 12 and to honor patriotic writing by local students.

Tré Johnson, a senior at Delta High School, was presented with an award for his first place composition in the annual Voice of Democracy Audio Essay Competition. He received a stipend and a framed certificate naming him an "outstanding young spokesman for freedom."

The Voice of Democracy essay competition is sponsored on the local, district, state and national levels annually by the VFW organization. It provides young writers the chance to earn scholarship money by submitting winning essays on a patriotic theme selected each year.

The Voice of Democracy high school level competition is accompanied each year by a competition on the middle school level. At the VFW banquet last week, three top writers from Delta Middle School were cited for their winning entries in the Patriot Pen Essay Competition.

Writing on the theme of "The America I Believe In," were Raelee Lynn McCurdy, first place; Kayla Miller, second place; and Kara Herren, third place. (Herren was not available for photos.)

All of the winning essays will be submitted for judging in the district level competition.

Read more from:
School Zone
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: