Web Analytics

401 Meeker St Delta CO 81416 970.874.4421

Voter turnout approaches 90%

Related Articles
  Email   Print

It was nearly midnight before election officials in Delta County finished tallying ballots cast in the Nov. 8 election.

Voter turnout started out strong and ended even stronger, with 143 residents registering to vote on Election Day. Rene Loy Maas, county elections supervisor, said 759 votes were cast in person at the three polling centers open for Election Day.

"Some people had to wait in line," Maas said, "but for the most part we were able to filter them through in 15 to 20 minutes."

Overall, voter turnout approached the "remarkable" level of 89 percent. Maas calculated that percentage by taking the number of active voters (19,661) and dividing by the number of ballots cast (17,490).

The election database statewide went down briefly on Election Day, but Maas said the system was back up and running in about 30 minutes.

Orchard City voters also experienced a unique snafu when they went to govote

colorado.com to check the status of their ballots. Ballots could only be found using the zip code of 81414; the zip codes for 81418 (Eckert) and 81410 (Austin) would not produce results. Maas said she is working to rectify that problem.

Maas recognized county staff and election judges for their "exemplary dedication and determination.

"Our county staff and election judges did an outstanding job on Election Day," she said. "We certainly would not have had such a successful election without each and everyone of them."

The Colorado Secretary of State's office broke down returned ballots by party affiliations. For Delta County, the top three were Democrats, 3,271; unaffiliated, 5002; and Republicans, 8,775. The county's conservative voters boosted Republican counts in every county, state and federal race.

County voters diverged from state trends with one amendment and one proposition. Delta County voters said no to Amendment 70, which increases the state minimum wage. That amendment pased on a 55-45 percent margin statewide.

Proposition 108 -- changing the primary election process to allow unaffiliated voters to participate -- passed statewide by a 54-47 percent margin. In Delta County, 53 percent of voters were against that measure.

Delta County Unofficial

U.S. President

Hillary Clinton/Tim Kaine (DEM) 4,048

Donald Trump/Michael Pence (REP) 11,584

Gary Johnson/Bill Weld (LBR) 466

Jill Stein/Ajamu Baraka (GRN) 250

U.S. Senator

Michael Bennet (DEM) 4,876

Darryl Glenn (REP) 10,903

U.S. Representative - District 3

Scott Tipton (REP) 11,191

Gail Schwartz (DEM) 4,698

State Board of Education - District 3

Joyce Rankin (REP) 11,656

Christine Pacheco-Koveleski (DEM) 4,124

Regent of the University of Colorado - At Large

Alice Madden (DEM) 4,412

Heidi Ganahl (REP) 10,883

State Representative - District 54

Yeulin Willett (REP) 3,851

Gilbert Fuller (LBR) 992

State Representative - District 61

Bob Schutt (REP) 7,694

Millie Hamner (DEM) 3,352

District Attorney - 7th Judicial District

Dan Hotsenpiller (DEM) 8,779

Delta County Commissioner - District 2

Don Suppes (REP) 10,727

Travis Mills (DEM) 2,934

Mark Eckhart (UAF) 2,734

Delta County Commissioner - District 3

Jere Lowe (DEM) 4,263

J. Mark Roeber (REP) 11,962

Town of Crawford Ballot Issue 2A

Yes/For 101

No/Against 110

Delta County Ambulance District Issue 5A

Yes/For 5,388

No/Against 6,163

Read more from:
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: